[RPG] Cut off hand with Ring of Regeneration on it


@Li-aungYip 's recent question made me think about this.

From the d20SRD:


This white gold ring continually allows a living wearer to heal 1 point of damage per level every hour rather than every day. (This ability cannot be aided by the Heal skill.) Nonlethal damage heals at a rate of 1 point of damage per level every 5 minutes. If the wearer loses a limb, an organ, or any other body part while wearing this ring, the ring regenerates it as the spell. In either case, only damage taken while wearing the ring is regenerated.

Let's assume my PC wears the ring on his left hand. If his right hand is cut off, the hand would slowly regenerate. But what happens if my PC's left hand is cut off?

Theoretically speaking, the spell was active when his hand was cut, but the channeling (if it can be called like this) got interrupted. If my PC immediately (that said, less than 1 round) wears the ring again in his right hand, would he get his left one back? If the answer is yes (which I don't believe), would he get the hand back even if he doesn't wear the ring again (or if he wears it after 1-2 minutes)?

NB: While I would prefer a rules-as-written answer, feel free to answer anyway if this already happened to you and you used a house-rule!

Best Answer

"Only damage taken while wearing the ring" does not imply that the regeneration only heals damage done since the last time the ring has been worn.

Let's imagine I'm a character wearing a ring of regeneration. I get dealt some damage, let's say 20 damage, and my ring heals me, round by round, 10 hit points.
Then I remove the ring and I still have 10 damage. I get dealt 3 more damage, bringing the total to 13.
When I wear the ring again it starts healing 10 more damage, bringing me back to 3 hp lost.

What happened? Only damage taken while wearing the ring is regenerated holds true.

So, you lost your hand and we decided this amputation is considered to have been done while wearing the ring. Next time you wear the ring, no matter how much time has passed, no matter if you lost both hands and now are in need of an Hand of Glory to wear it, you start growing back your hand, period.

If the hand gets pressed against the stump in time, instead, I would say the hand would get reattached and the ring would keep working once the hand is attached again.
While not attached, I'd treat the hand as an item, who does not regenerate.