[RPG] Do Bane bonuses from multiple sources stack


I am playing an Inquisitor who has the "bane ability" in which I can change my bane type that I apply each round I so choose for a certain number of rounds per day. My sword already has (evil outsider) bane on it. We are playing Wrath of the Righteous, which includes lots of demons.

If I use my Inquisitor power to put "demon bane" on my sword that already has evil outsider bane, and attack an evil (outsider) demon, do the banes stack as they are from separate sources and differing types of bane that would both effect the same creature? (such as when people put multiple energy types on the same weapon, but they still stack for damage)

As the bane is not an enhancement bonus itself, but a modification of one, it should stack with anything on the weapon. I would reason that the two differing types of bane would add together only in instances in which they both applied, of course, but would be similar to the elemental damage rules where differing types do stack.

My question is more in relation to the differing sources (ability vs. weapon already imbued). If this makes bane viable two ways, then the damage is a no brainer, but does this in fact function the way that I think it does? Any input is very much welcomed.

Best Answer

The double bane does not stack because the class specifically states

At 5th level, an inquisitor can imbue one of her weapons with the bane weapon special ability as a swift action.

So clearly both are the same source of bane and you cant stack them in anyway that you could benefit from both, except maybe a better caster level.

Related Topic