[RPG] Do land circle druids use spell slots when they cast their land circle spells


In 5e D&D, do Land Circle Druids use spell slots for their Land Circle spells? For example, a second level Druid gets 2 cantrips – no spell slots needed – and 3 1st level spell slots. So, he can basically cast 3 spells at 1st level and his cantrips. If that druid chooses to go Land Circle, such as Swamp Circle, he adds 2 new Land Circle spells, always prepared, to his collection – Darkness, and Acid Arrow, both not cantrips.

My issue is, if he's required to use spell slots to cast those Land Circle spells, then they aren't that great. He could do as well with plain old Druid spells, things like Fog Cloud, Ice Knife, and Earth Tremor. So if he has to use spell slots for Circle Spells, why not choose a different circle? He does get a couple other things as, for example, Swamp Circle, like Land Stride, but that's only useful in a very, very, very small percentage of situations. So I'm wondering if I'm reading Land Circle Druids incorrectly. It says their Land Circle spells are always prepared, but that's not a big deal for a Druid, is it?

Do they have to use their limited spell slots to cast their Land Circle spells?

Best Answer

Yes, Circle spells (of 1st level and higher) require spell slots.

For druids (and other spellcasters who prepare spells), the benefit of extra spells is that they are always prepared, in addition to the number of spells they can prepare after a long rest.

Once you gain access to a circle spell, you always have it prepared, and it doesn’t count against the number of spells you can prepare each day. If you gain access to a spell that doesn’t appear on the druid spell list, the spell is nonetheless a druid spell for you.

Normally, a druid prepares a number of spells equal to their druid level + their Wisdom modifier. Circle Spells are always prepared in addition to this number. So even if a Circle Spell is already on the druid spell list, the Circle of the Land druid effectively has more spells prepared than other druids.

These spells otherwise follow the rules for a druid's spellcasting, which typically means expending a spell slot to cast a druid spell.

To cast one of these druid spells, you must expend a slot of the spell’s level or higher. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a long rest.

Because druids have Ritual Casting, they can cast any of these spells as a ritual if it has the "ritual" tag. Otherwise it requires an appropriate spell slot to cast.