[RPG] Do Powerful Build and Monkey Grip Stack


The Character in question is a Large half-Minotaur Goliath who is using monkey grip.

Normally a Large Goliath could wield a Huge weapon with no penalty.
Monkey Grip allows you to wield a weapon 1 size larger at a -2 penalty without changing the effort it takes to wield. So, would these effects stack and allow me to wield a Gargantuan 1-handed Weapon?

Best Answer

No, they do not stack.

The reason they don't is that both the racial trait and the feat reference your normal size category.

Powerful Build:

A Goliath can use weapons designed for a creature one size larger without penalty

Monkey Grip:

You can use melee weapons one size category larger than you are

In the case of a Goliath with Monkey Grip, both would be referencing the Goliath's actual size, which is Medium.