The errata'd version of healer's lore only works if the target character has spent a surge.
It does not work for powers that act as if they'd spent a surge.
So your second bullet is the correct interpretation. This was the purpose of the errata. Let's dig into this.
The new feature reads:
lets a creature spend a healing surge to regain hitpoints
So what does "spend a healing surge" actually mean?
RC 258 has some details here:
Most healing requires a character to spend a healing surge. When a character spends a healing surge, he or she regains lost hit points and adds them to his or her current hit point total.
Once per encounter, a character can use the second wind action to spend a healing surge and regain hit points.
A character can spend a limited number of healing surges per day. When the character takes an extended rest, his or her number of healing surges is replenished.
After a short rest, the character can spend as many healing surges as desired outside combat.
Some powers allow a character to regain hit points as if he or she had spent a healing surge. When a character receives such healing, he or she doesn’t actually spend a healing surge. (emphasis mine)
So spending a surge is only when a surge is spent for healing.
The language of Healer's lore is explicit. It only triggers when a surge is spent, not when powers that function "as if a surge was spent".
Just to clarify that this is the intent, Greg from the Wizards team says it explicitly:
You don't gain the bonus to healing in powers that say "as if you had spent a healing surge."
One last note, since this is obviously not nearly as strong as it was pre-errata you might consider (if Dragon content is allowed in your game), the Battle Cleric's Lore option from Dragon 400, I haven't built a cleric with Healer's Lore in ages, as Battle Cleric's Lore addresses a gaping AC hole for Clerics. Or if you're building a solely PHB Cleric, you might argue for your DM to allow you to use the pre-Errata Healer's Lore as the PHB didn't have powers like Astral Seal that abuse it to great effect.
If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can choose yourself, unless the creature must be hostile or specifically a creature other than you.
(Player's Handbook p204)
In the case of Greater Invisibility, the caster is specified as an additional target to clarify that the caster is a valid target even when the caster cannot be touched (if she were manacled against a wall, for instance). Ordinarily, a spell which only targets "a creature you touch" (such as Cure Wounds or the standard Invisibility spell) cannot be used on any creature that cannot be touched.
What exactly qualifies as "touch" is not precisely defined in the rules; however, the text of Greater Invisibility in particular suggests that touch is not automatic against oneself.
No, you do not have to make an attack roll for healing your allies.
If the target is willing to accept the healing spell, there is no attack roll required.
Touch Spells in Combat
If the bard is really worried about burning through his Bardic Music uses per day, then consider the feats Extra Music, Melodic Casting, and/or Lingering Song.
Another combination I have always loved...
1A raven familiar can speak one language of its master’s choice as a supernatural ability.