[RPG] Do you make saves against the Web spell as you move through it


Inspired by this question I am wondering how exactly the web spell works. It states (emphasis mine):

Each creature that starts its turn in the webs or that enters them during its turn must make a Dexterity saving throw.

I believe that this means that if you are not in the webs and enter them, you must make a save. If you succeeded, exited the webs, and re-entered them, you would have to make another save, as you are "entering the webs during your turn".

Unlike many other spells such as moonbeam, web does not state that the save occurs only the first time you enter them.

Do you have to make a save for each square of webbing that you enter?

Best Answer


All the squares that the web spell affects are the result of a single spell. The wording uses webs (plural) but it starts by specifying:

You conjure a mass of thick, sticky webbing at a point of your choice within range

So there is only one effect, and moving between squares within the web does not trigger any additional saves because the spell does not specify any need to make saves outside of starting within the affect or entering on a turn.

Related Topic