[RPG] Does a creature killed by a Shadow Dragon’s Shadow Breath become undead


Regarding Shadow Dragons, the Monster Manual (p. 85) states:

Any damage-dealing breath weapon possessed by the dragon deals
necrotic damage instead of its original damage type. A humanoid
reduced to 0 hit points by this damage dies, and an undead shadow
rises from its corpse and acts immediately after the dragon in the
initiative count. The shadow is under the dragon's control.

Does this necessarily mean that the humanoid becomes the undead shadow? It should clearly state that, if that is the case. This matters in case the party wishes to raise the character from the dead via a revivify or raise dead spell.

Best Answer

The undead shadow is literally the humanoid's actual shadow, turned into an undead monster. It is not the humanoid's soul itself.

The Monster Manual entry for the Shadow states:

If a creature from which a shadow has been created somehow returns to life, its undead shadow senses the return. The shadow might seek its "parent" to vex or slay. Whether the shadow pursues its living counterpart, the creature that birthed the shadow no longer casts one until the monster is destroyed.