[RPG] Does a demon with the Magic Resistance trait have advantage on saving throws against the Summon Greater Demon spell


Assume I use summon greater demon (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 166) and choose a demon with the Magic Resistance trait.

Does Magic Resistance grant the demon advantage on the Charisma saving throw at the end of its turn against the summon greater demon spell?

Best Answer

Yes it does

Magic resistance on any creature description I can find in the Monster Manual states the following:

Magic Resistance. The Insert monster name here has advantage on saving throws against spells and other magical effects.

Your summon greater demon spell being part of a spell is, indeed, a magical effect holding the demon, so he would certainly have advantage against resisting its hold.

Summon greater demon however, has this in its description:

At the end of each of the demons turns, it makes a Charisma saving throw. The demon has disadvantage on this saving throw if you say its true name.

The rules of advantage and disadvantage in the Player's Handbook state:

If circumstances cause a roll to have both advantage and disadvantage, you are considered to have neither of them, and roll one d20. This is true even if multiple circumstances impose and only one grants advantage or vice versa. In such a situation, you have neither advantage nor disadvantage.