[RPG] Does an alchemist need make a Spellcraft check when he wants to copy a formula


An alchemist can add formulae to his book just like a wizard adds spells to his spellbook, using the same costs and time requirements.

But it's not mentioned same "Spellcraft check" so I'm confused.

Best Answer

Alchemists aren't mentioned in the Spellcraft skill simply because the Alchemist wasn't around when the Core rules were written and it's never been updated.

The only key difference between a wizard learning and an alchemist is that alchemists do not need to decipher arcane writings before copying them.

Therefore, to copy a spell/formula to your formula book:

  1. Get a spell/scroll/formula book with a formula that an alchemist can use.
  2. If you were a Wizard you'd have to Understand the text DC 20 + the spell's level. Failure means trying again the next day. But alchemists don't need to do this.
  3. Study the formula for an hour.
  4. Understand the formula DC 15 + the formula/spell's level. Failure means try again in a week.
  5. Copy the formula into your own book. This takes 1 hour per formula level (0 = 1/2 hour) This takes 1 page/level and costs money to pay for materials (see below)
  6. If this was on a scroll then that scroll is used up and useless.

Note that you can take 10 on these checks if "your character is not in immediate danger or distracted".

Lvl Cost
0   5 gp
1   10 gp
2   40 gp
3   90 gp
4   160 gp
5   250 gp
6   360 gp
7   490 gp
8   640 gp
9   810 gp

Being a Wizard or an alchemist is expensive.