[RPG] Does an attack hit if it exactly matches the target’s AC


For an attack to successfully hit a given Armor Class, would it need to get a number higher than the Armor Class? Or does it hit if the total exactly equals the Armor Class value as well?

Does the answer to this question change depending on what type of attack it is?

Best Answer

From the PHB section on Attack Rolls, emphasis added:

If the total of the roll plus modifiers equals or exceeds the target's Armor Class (AC), the attack hits.