[RPG] Does casting a spell use a spell slot if you have the components for the spell


Both my DMs say that if you have the components for the spell you can cast the spell without using a spell slot. Is this true normally in D&D 5e, or is it more of a DM discretion thing?

Best Answer

What your DMs are describing is NOT standard 5e. I don't know where they're getting their information from, but it has to be some kind of (clearly misrepresented) homebrew mechanics.

It's possible they've confused things with the Ritual Mechanics:


Certain spells have a special tag: ritual. Such a spell can be cast following the normal rules for spellcasting, or the spell can be cast as a ritual. The ritual version of a spell takes 10 minutes longer to cast than normal.

It also doesn't expend a spell slot, which means the ritual version of a spell can't be cast at a higher level.

To cast a spell as a ritual, a spellcaster must have a feature that grants the ability to do so. The cleric and the druid, for example, have such a feature. The caster must also have the spell prepared or on his or her list of spells known, unless the character's ritual feature specifies otherwise, as the wizard's does.

Ritual spellcasting does allow a spellcaster to cast a spell without consuming a spell slot.

But that's completely different from the material requirements: if a spell specifies material requirements, you're required to provide those components (which, if the spell specifically says they're consumed, they will be consumed), OR, you're allowed to use an Arcane Focus/Holy Symbol if (and only if) the material components do not specify a cost. Whether you provide the raw components or use an arcane focus has no bearing on whether a spell slot is consumed; only cantrips and spells cast as rituals preserve spell slots (or racial/class features that allow specific spells to be cast without using spell slots).