[RPG] Does copying a spell from a scroll into your spellbook consume the scroll


The text on page 32 of the Basic Rules that talks about copying spells does not explicitly state that the process consumes the scroll. Does it?

Best Answer


The DMG states:

Whether the check succeeds or fails, the spell scroll is destroyed. (DMG 200)

I tweeted the question to Mike Mearls, and he confirmed that as far as he knows spell scrolls are in fact consumed during the copying process. I will consider this to be the case until future published materials contradict Mike's assertion. Tweets provided below.

@mikemearls Does copying a spell scroll into a Wizard's spellbook consume the scroll? The basic rules don't seem to explicitly say so.

— Matthew Boyette (@Dyndrilliac) August 2, 2014

@Dyndrilliac believe it does

— Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) August 2, 2014