[RPG] Does Dispel Magic destroy Artificer Turrets


I'm playing a 10th-level artillerist artificer for a one-shot my friend is running, and while playtesting some with another friend (so I could actually learn my character sheet), she cast Dispel Magic on my summoned turret. I thought the turret shouldn't be affected, she thought it should be rendered inert.
For reference, the feature of the revised 2019 artificer on D&DBeyond has the following text:

At 3rd level, you learn how to create a magical turret. With your smith’s tools in hand, you can take an action to magically summon a Medium turret in an unoccupied space on a horizontal surface within 5 feet of you.

It does also say that "the turret is a magical object". From Does dispel magic work on magical weapons? I feel like Dispel Magic shouldn't work on my turret.

Similarly, it shouldn't be able to remove my artificer infusions from any infused items I have, right?

Best Answer

No, dispel magic will not remove the turrets

Arcane Turret says:

At 3rd level you learn how to create a magical turret. With your smith's tools in hand you can take an action to magically summon a Medium turret [...]

So the turrets are magical and are created by taking a specially defined action as part of a class feature. However they are not spells or created by a spell effect.1

This is important because dispel magic only has any effect on things that are spells:

Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends.

Since magical turret is not a spell, dispel magic won't do anything to them (unless they happen to have an unrelated spell on them).

This aligns with guidance from the Sage Advice Compendium:

Can you use dispel magic to dispel a magical effect like a vampire’s Charm ability or a druid’s Wild Shape?

Dispel magic has a particular purpose: to break other spells. It has no effect on a vampire’s Charm ability or any other magical effect that isn’t a spell. It also does nothing to the properties of a magic item. (SAC v2.3 p 14)

1 - You can see this Q&A for an in-depth discussion for what counts as a spell. In short: nowhere does the feature say anything about a spell, or say you "cast" anything, or give this ability a spell name or spell block listed anywhere. Without those things, this can't be a spell.