[RPG] Does Flame Blade count as a weapon for Green-Flame Blade


The description for the green-flame blade spell (SCAG, p. 143) says:

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell's range.

It doesn't specify that the "attack with a weapon" can't be a "spell attack with a weapon".

Does the effect conjured by flame blade count as a weapon or not and therefore be used in conjunction with green-flame blade?

It doesn't say in the spell description of flame blade. It only states it is similar in size and shape to a scimitar which sounds strikingly like a weapon to me.

Best Answer


In fact, you can't even use a Flame Blade spell as part of an Attack (action).

The spell states:

You evoke a fiery blade in your free hand. The blade is similar in size and shape to a scimitar, and it lasts for the duration. lf you let go of the blade, it disappears, but you can evoke the blade again as a bonus action.

You can use your action to make a melee spell attack with the fiery blade. On a hit, the target takes 3d6 fire damage.

The only mechanical uses of the the fiery blade are its unique action (make a melee spell attack, deal 3d6 fire damage on hit), and its ability to shed light.

Since you can't make a melee weapon attack with it, it isn't a weapon, and thus can't be used in conjuction with Green-Flame Blade.

Compare this to the spell Shadow Blade (from Xanathar's) which says:

You weave together threads of shadow to create a sword of solidified gloom in your hand. This magic sword lasts until the spell ends. It counts as a simple melee weapon with which you are proficient. It deals 2d8 psychic damage on a hit and has the finesse, light, and thrown properties (range 20/60)

The spell description specifically states that the effect counts as a weapon, and it defines the weapons properties.