[RPG] Does flying upward cost more movement

3d-spacednd-5eflightmovement

Let's say an Aarakocra, with a native flying speed of 30ft, starts to fly upwards.

Does her 30ft flying speed bring her to a height of 30ft or does moving up 1ft cost more than 1ft of available movement?

Best Answer

Movement in any direction costs 1' per 1'.

There is no reason within the rules to limit vertical movement. The only modification to 1'=1' is that if you are using 5' squares, diagonal movement does not carry additional cost unless that option is also being used.