[RPG] Does Glitter Dust become invisible if you cast Invisibility afterwards

invisibilitypathfinder-1espells

If you are affected by glitter dust and then decide to become invisible, shouldn't the glitter dust become invisible and no longer outline the creature? The source of light still exists, and the light is visible, but you cant see the source of light anymore.

Best Answer

You're not the first to wonder about this

The designers have known for a while that there are questions surrounding the scenario in which a creature affected by the spell glitterdust casts the spell invisibility. Pathfinder lead designer Jason Bulmahn clarifies (to some extent) in this 2010 thread:

Glitterdust kills invisibility and all the rules that go with it.
Glitterdust has no effect on other forms of concealment.
Glitterdust also makes it very difficult to hide and might blind you.
That is all... (as it is currently worded).

If this is insufficient, you can read more in threads from 2011, 2012, 2013, 2013, and 2014. (There are even more, but these seem most relevant.)

To summarize the most common reading:

Invisibility makes light sources but not the light itself invisible...

In fact, the spell invisibility says pretty much exactly that:

Light, however, never becomes invisible, although a source of light can become so (thus, the effect is that of a light with no visible source).

Thus an invisible creature's torch still sheds light.

...So invisibility makes glitterdust's dust invisible but not the sparkling

The spell glitterdust, a conjuration spell of the creation subschool, says that

A cloud of golden particles covers everyone and everything in the area, causing creatures to become blinded and visibly outlining invisible things for the duration of the spell. All within the area are covered by the dust, which cannot be removed and continues to sparkle until it fades.

So the spell negates invisibility because the sparkling itself doesn't also become invisible.