Even if the rogue has the feat Improved Precise Shot, the rogue's foe can still have concealment. If the concealment's less than total, the rogue will ignore the miss chance, but the foe'll still have the concealment, so the rogue won't deal sneak attack damage. The feat Improved Precise Shot doesn't make the concealment dissipate; instead, the feat only mitigates its effects for the rogue.
Likewise, even if the rogue has the rogue talent sniper's eye, the rogue's foe can still have concealment, but the talent allows the rogue to deal sneak attack damage to the foe if that concealment's less than total. However, the rogue still suffers the miss chance from the foe's concealment.
Having both the feat and the talent means the rogue, when confronted with a foe with concealment less than total, ignores the miss chance from concealment and can deal the foe sneak attack damage.
- why can't you use the sharpshooter feat to add 10 damage (at the cost of -5 to hit)? It's a ranged weapon (and assume that I am proficient with it)
The sharpshooter feat says:
Before you make an attack with a ranged weapon that
you are proficient with, you can choose to take a - 5
penalty to the attack roll. If the attack hits, you add +10
to the attack’s damage.
Well, its a ranged weapon and you're proficient with it so you can do this. This just leaves us with the interpretation of adding +10 to an attack that does no damage - not 0 damage: - damage.
One way of interpreting it is that adding a number to a - makes as much sense as adding a number to a kumquat: you can't add a number and not a number so you can take the penalty if you want, you just gat no advantage.
Alternatively, you could say that - damage is 0 damage and of course you get the +10 damage. You're a sharpshooter after all and this could represent dropping the net around someone's neck or other vulnerable extremity and pulling and twisting it to cause damage.
RAW is sufficiently vague that either interpretation is valid and will depend on individual DMs.
- If I am a rogue, can I add my sneak damage on a hit? The rules on sneak attack are finesse or ranged weapons - Net is a ranged weapon (assume no disadvantage on the attack due to feats)
Sneak attack says:
Once per turn, you can
deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with
an attack if you have advantage on the attack roll. The
attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon.
This runs into the same issues: "extra damage" implies that there is some damage there already. Your DM can decide that this is the same as they decided above, or that its different.
Equally, they could decide that the god's can't stand a smart-ass and obliterate your character. :-)
Sneak attack damage is magical if the weapon used is magical.
The Sneak Attack feature says that the rogue adds extra damage to the weapon attack.
This implies that the extra damage is the same type of damage as the weapon. If the rogue's weapon is magical, and the sneak attack damage is added to the weapon's damage, then you would count the total as damage from a magical weapon.