[RPG] Does Mystic Arcanum take up a spells known slot


For levels where you get a new mystic arcanum, the warlock leveling table also shows that you get one more spell known. Are they the same spell, or is the spell you get from mystic arcanum a different thing altogether?

I looked at Reddit for answers, and they had one claiming that they are different things, but the rationale seemed more opinion-based than RAW based.

Best Answer

Per the Player's Handbook:

The Spells Known column of the Warlock table shows when you learn more warlock spells of your choice of 1st level and higher. A spell you choose must be of a level no higher than what’s shown in the table's Slot Level column for your level.

The Slot Level column never increases above "5th", so a warlock can never know a warlock spell of 6th level or higher.

Therefore the Mystic Arcanum spells must be known separately from the warlock's Pact Magic spells.