[RPG] Does the +1 enchant bonus for masterwork weapons apply to enchantment cost calculation


A weapon must be masterwork to be enchanted, it also must have +1 enhancement bonus before it can be enchanted. Does the +1 enhancement bonus* from being masterwork apply?

Example Calculation: +1 Benevolent Rapier

Rapier 20gp

Masterwork 300gp

Benevolent 2000gp

Total: 2320gp

*Note: This is a non-magical bonus to attack rolls

Best Answer

It does not

This is explained on Magic Weapons:

A magic weapon is enhanced to strike more truly and deliver more damage. Magic weapons have enhancement bonuses ranging from +1 to +5. They apply these bonuses to both attack and damage rolls when used in combat. All magic weapons are also masterwork weapons, but their masterwork bonuses on attack rolls do not stack with their enhancement bonuses on attack rolls.

You will notice that though both add an enhancement bonus, the masterwork's enhancement bonus is not a magic weapon's enhancement bonus, which is required before you can add a Special Ability to weapons:

Creating a magic weapon has a special prerequisite: The creator’s caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the weapon. If an item has both an enhancement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met. A magic weapon must have at least a 1 enhancement bonus to have any melee or ranged special weapon abilities.

Though both are enhancement bonuses, a masterwork weapon is not a magic weapon yet. It becomes a magical weapon once you bestow the first +1 magical enhancement bonus on it, as explained on this answer about calculating the costs of a magical weapon.

The distinction here, and better explained on Ryan's answer, is that the masterwork's enhancement bonus is applied on your attack rolls, while the magic weapon's enhancement bonus is applied on the weapon, which increases your attack rolls aswell. Being bonuses of the same type, they don't stack.