[RPG] Does the -4 to disarm still apply if you have Improved Unarmed Strike


I was reading the combat maneuvers section and was reading the disarm part.

You can attempt to disarm your opponent in place of a melee attack. If you do not have the Improved Disarm feat, or a similar ability, attempting to disarm a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. Attempting to disarm a foe while unarmed imposes a –4 penalty on the attack.

So for the unarmed -4 penalty, does that include if you have improved unarmed strike?

Best Answer

If you have the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, you do not get the -4 penalty.

When the game rules talk about being unarmed, they talk about not wielding a weapon. Improved Unarmed Strike means that you know how to handle yourself in an unarmed fight and in effect are Armed (are wielding a weapon) because you have a weapon on hand (even if it is literally just your hand) even though you aren't holding weapon. People without the feat are assumed to be unable to effectively handle themselves in a fight without a weapon.

Think of it as the difference between a regular person on the street, and a martial artist, or boxer.

Benefit: You are considered to be armed even when unarmed—you do not provoke attacks of opportunity when you attack foes while unarmed. Your unarmed strikes can deal lethal or nonlethal damage, at your choice.

Normal: Without this feat, you are considered unarmed when attacking with an unarmed strike, and you can deal only nonlethal damage with such an attack.