[RPG] Does the advantage reroll of Elven Accuracy only apply to the ability you increased


The Elven Accuracy feat, from Xanathar's Guide to Everything (pg. 74), says this:

  • Increase your Dexterity, Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma score by 1, to a maximum of 20

  • Whenever you have advantage on an attack roll using Dexterity, Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma, you can reroll one of the dice once.

My question is, if I increase, say, Dexterity by 1 using this feat, would the other benefit of this feat (about rerolling a die when you have advantage) only apply when making an attack roll using Dexterity, or could I use this with any of these abilities?

Given the fact that they have the same wording, and that clearly you are only meant to increase one ability score as per the first bullet, I wonder if that "ties you" to that ability for the second bullet.

Best Answer

Elven Accuracy applies to all the attack rolls.

The two bullet points are independent. Consider the wording of the Resilient feat, where all of the effects apply to only one ability score:

Choose one ability score. You gain the following benefits:

  • Increase the chosen ability score by 1, to a maximum of 20.
  • You gain proficiency in saving throws using the chosen ability.

Emphasis mine. If the intention of Elven Accuracy was that the second point only applied to one ability score, it would have been worded similarly to Resilient. The second point of Elven Accuracy makes no mention to the ability score increased in the first point, so its benefit applies to all listed abilities.