[RPG] Does the Beast Master ranger’s Primal Companion optional class feature allow the beast to take two actions in a single turn


The description of the Primal Companion optional class feature for Beast Master rangers says, in part (Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, p. 61):

In combat the beast acts during your turn. It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action. You can also sacrifice one of your attacks when you take the Attack action to command the beast to take the Attack action. If you are incapacitated, the beast can take any action of its choice, not just Dodge.

As far as I know, a creature can only take one action on their turn.

However, I watched a video from Dungeon Dudes on YouTube where they rated the Ranger subclasses. Around the 23:18 mark, they mentioned that the new Beast Master's Primal Companion feature from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything can allow the Ranger to forgo one of their attacks to allow the Beast to take the Attack action, on top of the action that they can make using the Ranger's bonus action.

Is this a specific ruling for the Primal Companion since it doesn't have its own turn because "it acts on your [the Ranger's] turn?"

Also does this mean that the ranger can break up their movement, actions, and bonus actions with the primal beast's on their turn, essentially controlling two characters freely?

In the video, Monty mentioned that a level 11 Beast Master ranger can make one attack and have the primal beast attack four times, which is crazy in my opinion.

Best Answer

You can use your bonus action to allow the beast to take an action other than the dodge action in which case you'd be using your bonus action to command the beast to attack.

Additionally, you can sacrifice one of your attacks when you take the Attack action to command the beast to take the Attack action instead of its standard dodge action.

Nowhere is it stated that you are imbuing the beast with special powers allowing it to ignore the established action economy and take multiple Attack actions per round. You're merely commanding the beast to attack in whichever way is most convenient to you at the time.

Whether you give the command once or twice, in the end the beast can still only take a single Attack action per turn.