[RPG] Does the caster level of a spell-like ability satisfy prerequisites of item creation feats


Does the caster level of a spell like ability satisfy prerequisite of item creation feats?

Monster Example: Devil, Imp

Spell-Like Abilities (CL 6th)

  • Constant — detect good, detect magic
  • At will — invisibility (self only)
  • 1/day — augury, suggestion (DC 15)
  • 1/week — commune (6 questions, CL 12th)

Can the Imp take, for example, Craft Wondrous Item using the caster levels of its spell-like abilities to meet the prerequisite of the feat?

Best Answer

It does not

This has been (briefly) clarified on this FAQ item:

Item Creation Feats: Does having a caster level from a spell-like ability meet the caster level prerequisite for selecting an item creation feat?


They can be used to satisfy the magic item's requirement (FAQ), but not the crafting feat requirements.