[RPG] Does the Celestial Brilliance spell stack with itself


I've a couple of questions regarding stacking multiple area effect spells:

  1. Does Celestial Brilliance spell (BoED p94) stack with itself? That is, if two instances of this spell are cast and an evil outsider is within both areas of effect, does it take 4d6 points of damage or 2d6? Why?
    (there are plenty of spells like that, e.g. wall of fire, it's just Celestial Brilliance which is easy to stack)

  2. What if it was an emanation, instead of an unspecified area effect?

  3. What if it was a spread?

Best Answer

They would not stack

It's covered by this sentence:

In most cases, modifiers to a given check or roll stack (combine for a cumulative effect) if they come from different sources and have different types (or no type at all), but do not stack if they have the same type or come from the same source (such as the same spell cast twice in succession). If the modifiers to a particular roll do not stack, only the best bonus and worst penalty applies. Dodge bonuses and circumstance bonuses however, do stack with one another unless otherwise specified.

Emphasis mine.

Note, that this is referring to Bonuses, but I believe the same applies to Damage as well, unless the spell says it stacks, it wouldn't stack.

Similar Reference in the Magic Section:

In cases when two or more identical spells are operating in the same area or on the same target, but at different strengths, only the best one applies.

Which I think covers the damage stacking aspect.

Related Topic