[RPG] Does the Changeling’s Shapechanger trait (from UA: Eberron) change your physical stats and abilities


The Changeling race from Unearthed Arcana: Eberron has the Shapechanger trait, which lets it innately shapeshift:

As an action, you can polymorph into any humanoid of your size that you have seen, or back into your true form. However, your equipment does not change with you. If you die, you revert to your natural appearance.

Do you get the physical stats of the new form you hold? If you transform into the party's rogue, would you get its Dexterity? If I became an Aarakocra, could I fly?

Best Answer

I would argue that the Changeling's Shapechanger ability is only skin-deep, in that it allows you to take the form or "shape" of the target humanoid, and nothing else. At best, it allows the Changeling to disguise herself as a different humanoid at will.

Taking into account that "you can polymorph" and "you can cast polymorph" are two very different things, we cannot equate the term "polymorph" as used in the Shapechanger ability with the Polymorph spell. As such, we define the term as we define most other terms that are not otherwise defined by the rules: as English words. And "polymorph (verb)" simply means "to take a different form".

To allow the Changeling to use the Polymorph spell at will is crazy and game-breaking. You've essentially achieved the Druid's capstone ability as a racial trait! ^_^