[RPG] Does the Defensive Duelist feat work when wielding ranged finesse weapons


The description of the Defensive Duelist feat says (PHB, p. 165):

When you are wielding a finesse weapon with which you are proficient and another creature hits you with a melee attack, you can use your reaction to add your proficiency bonus to your AC for that attack, potentially causing the attack to miss you.

Does wielding ranged finesse weapons (e.g. a dart) trigger the Defensive Duelist feat?

I note that many other references to "wielding" specifically refer to wielding melee weapons, while the text from Defensive Duelist just mentions finesse weapons with no mention of melee involved (except on the enemy attack).

I'm wondering if there's anything RAW that invalidates this interpretation.

Best Answer

By RAW: you can use a dart with Defensive Duelist. It just asks for a finesse weapon, not necessarily a melee weapon.

However, personally I would rule that it would require a finesse melee weapon, and I imagine it would probably be changed in a future version of the Errata to specify finesse melee weapons. Darts just aren't something you'd expect someone to even attempt to deflect a blow with.