[RPG] Does the Giant Toad’s Swallow also inflict its Bite damage


After asking this question for clarifications on how the acid damage dealt by the toad's Swallow works, I realised I need another explanation about this attack. A Giant Toad can make a Swallow attack on a creature it has grappled, as follows:

Swallow. The toad makes a bite attack against a Medium or smaller target it is grappling. If the attack hits, the target is
swallowed, and the grapple ends. The swallowed target is blinded and restrained […]

Specifying what happens if said attack hits, the text doesn't mention damage at all. Does this mean Bite is referenced only for its range and attack roll bonus? If yes, then Swallow doesn't deal damage at all, aside from the acid damage starting from the next turn (according to the conclusions drawn from my previous question). If no, then the damage of Bite is rolled and applied, followed by the effects of Swallow. Is this correct?

Best Answer


Swallow. The toad makes a bite attack

The toad makes its bite attack with normal resolution. If the attack hits, it deals damage. Additionally, it allows the Toad to use Swallow.

This is the general rule — when a creature has the "makes X attack(s)" phrase in its action description, that means it makes this attack and deals its damage, if the attack hits. The most obvious example is the Multiattack action:

Multiattack. The bear makes two attacks: one with its bite and one with its claws.

See the corresponding attack description to figure out the damage total.