[RPG] Does the level prerequisite for Invocations refer to class or character level

character-levelsdnd-5eeldritch-invocationsmulti-classingwarlock

The level requirements for Warlock invocations stated in the PHB are refering to which level, character or Warlock class?

Example: If I multiclassed into Warlock, Monk6/Warlock2, would I be able to pick up One With Shadows as an invocation which carries a 5th level requirement?

Best Answer

The PHB errata clarify this as well.

Eldritch Invocations (p. 110). A level prerequisite in an invocation refers to warlock level, not character level.