[RPG] Does the Magic Missile spell cause multiple saving throws to break an Aboleth’s charm


Jeremy Crawford previously noted that the Magic Missile spell causes a separate concentration roll by a spell caster for each hit. (Of note, this is different than Mike Mearls' answer which viewed a Magic Missile as one source of damage. As we understand it, Crawford's answer takes precedence.)

An Aboleth's charm notes: "Whenever the Charmed target takes damage, the target can repeat the saving throw."

Does this mean that a PC struck by Magic Missile would get to re-roll the savings throw for each hit by a missile?

Best Answer

Yes. The wording is very similar and while there is some room for interpretation (see this answer) this is the most straightforward reading.


Whenever you take damage while you are concentrating on a spell

Aboleth Enslave:

Whenever the Charmed target takes damage