[RPG] Does the special thrown attack of a Hammer of Thunderbolts deal damage


The Hammer of Thunderbolts has a special thrown property:

The hammer also has 5 charges. While attuned to it, you can expend 1 charge and make a ranged weapon attack with the hammer, hurling it as if it had the thrown property with a normal range of 20 feet and a long range of 60 feet. If the attack hits, the hammer unleashes a thunderclap audible out to 300 feet. The target and every creature within 30 feet of it must succeed on a DC 17 Constitution saving throw or be stunned until the end of your next turn. The hammer regains 1d4 + 1 expended charges daily at dawn.

I suspect it is probably the case, but just to be sure:
Does the special thrown attack of a Hammer of Thunderbolts deal damage, in addition to its stated effect? (2d6+1 + Strength modifier + other bonuses if any)

Best Answer

In the Making an Attack section of the Player's Handbook (p. 194) the process for making an attack is as follows (emphasis mine):

  1. Choose a target. Pick a target within your attack's range: a creature, an object, or a location.
  2. Determine modifiers. The DM determines whether the target has cover and whether you have advantage or disadvantage against the target. In addition, spells, special abilities. and other effects can apply penalties or bonuses to your attack roll.
  3. Resolve the attack. You make the attack roll. On a hit, you roll damage, unless the particular attack has rules that specify otherwise. Some attacks cause special effects in addition to or instead of damage.

Since the the Hammer of Thunderbolts doesn't specify that its thunderclap replaces the weapon damage, the thrown attack does regular damage in addition to the thunderclap effect.