[RPG] Does Wand of the War Mage apply to spells cast from other magic items


Let's use a wizard holding a Wand of the War Mage (DMG, p. 212) in one hand and a Wand of Winter (HotDQ, p. 94) in the other hand as the example:

Does the character get to add the bonus granted by the Wand of the War Mage to spell attacks available from the Wand of Winter, or just for the wizard's own spells?

Upon further research I found an answer from Jeremy Crawford about the difference between using a magic object and casting a spell:

Eric Wykoff

@mikemearls @JeremyECrawford Does using a magic item to cast a spell fall under the Use an Object action or Cast a Spell Action?

Jeremy Crawford

@edge2054 @mikemerls An action is one of those named actions only if it says it is.

So, using the Wand of Winter would fit in the Use a Magic Item type of action. Does the bonus of the Wand of The War Mage still apply even when the wizard is not casting a spell, but using a magic object?

Best Answer

The bonus applies to all spell attack rolls, whether the source is from a magic item or a class spell.

Wand of the War Mage says:

you gain a bonus to spell attack rolls...

It doesn't say anything about the spell even having to be cast or that the bonus only applies to class spells unlike something such as the Rod of the Pact Keeper which specifically states:

you gain a bonus to spell attack rolls and to the saving throw DCs of your warlock spells.

It doesn't matter if you're using an object or casting a spell, the bonus still applies.