[RPG] Does War Caster allow the use of two wielded items AND the use of your spellcasting focus


When using the Warcaster feat, if you are using two weapons or a weapon and a shield in both hands, are you able to also reach for and use your spellcasting focus to satisfy material component requirements? I know Warcaster allows you to use spells' somatic components while still wielding weapons or shields in both hands, but does it also allow you to access your spellcasting focus or component pouch in order to meet the material components of said spells?

War Caster

Prerequisite: The ability to cast at least one spell You have
practiced casting spells in the midst of combat, learning techniques
that grant you the following benefits:

• You have advantage on Constitution saving throws that you make to
maintain your concentration on a spell when you take damage.

• You can perform the somatic components of spells even when you have
weapons or a shield in one or both hands.

• When a hostile creature’s movement provokes an opportunity attack
from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature,
rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a
casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature.

I'm sure this question has been asked and answered before many times, in fact, I've found a few possible answers to this question, but alas, I'm still left a tad confused to what the exact capabilities and limitations are left for the player while taking the War Caster feat under these conditions.

Best Answer

No, the War Caster feat does not allow you interact with a spellcasting focus with a full hand, only complete the somatic component of a spell with one. The second bullet of the feat makes the character skilled enough to complete the somatic component of a spell in the heat of combat without having to stow a weapon or shield first.

Page 203 of the 5E PHB, under Material (Components) reads:

A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components - or to hold a spellcasting focus - but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.

War Caster does not free your hand; it allows you to complete the somatic component of a spell while anything is in it, not just your focus. You must somehow interact with your focus (or the material components) to complete the material component of a spell that requires one, regardless of which hand does the somatics.