[RPG] Expanded Spell Slots


What exactly are Expanded Spell Slots. Do they effect spells known? I'm very new to D&D, and I am unsure what it means. I did look in the PHB, and found this:

The Warlock table shows how many spell slots you have. The table also
shows what the level of those slots is; all of your spell slots are
the same level. To cast one of your warlock spells of 1st level or
higher, you must expend a spell slot. You regain all expended spell
slots when you finish a short or long rest.

For example, when you are
5th level, you have two 3rd-level spell slots. To cast the 1st-level
spell thunderwave, you must spend one of those slots, and you cast it
as a 3rd-level spell.

Best Answer

It's expended, not expanded. Expended means it is used up.

Lets say you have one spell slot, it is level one because you picked warlock.

You use one casting a level one spell.

You can't use that one anymore because it is used up, until you take a short or long rest.

So till then, you can only use cantrips.