[RPG] Glyph of Warding and Teleportation Circle

dnd-5espellstraps

So I wish to set up a teleportation system for my minions, using Spell Glyphs (Glyphs of Warding) to store Teleportation Circle spells.

Teleportation Circle says

As you cast the spell, you draw a 10-foot-diameter circle on the ground inscribed with sigils that link your location to a permanent teleportation circle of your choice whose sigil sequence you know and that is on the same plane of existence as you.

Glyph of Warding says

When the glyph is triggered, the stored spell is cast.

I see a several interpretations possible here. The most restrictive would be that the caster ("you") must inscribe the sigils at the time of casting – i.e. the triggering of the glyph. Therefore it would be impossible to use this spell to allow my minions to teleport on their own by triggering the glyph. The benefit of storing the spell in the glyph is that it allows the spell to be cast without using a spell slot at that moment.

A second interpretation would be that the entire act of casting is stored within the glyph, which would imply that the inscription is also so stored and the minions could teleport to whatever destination I set up at the time I created the glyph. When the glyph is triggered, the inscription appears and my minions can teleport to the pre-programmed circle.

A third interpretation would allow the minions to draw the inscription, and thus they could choose their destination at the moment that the glyph is triggered. I don't read the rules this way, but perhaps there is someone among us that can present a compelling argument for it.

Note the RAW tag. Please don't bother with saying, "Ask your DM". I am the DM.

Best Answer

You scribe the circle and runes when creating the glyph.

Glyph of warding:

Spell Glyph. You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or lower in the glyph by casting it as part of creating the glyph.

...

At Higher Levels. ... If you create a spell glyph, you can store any spell of up to the same level as the slot you use for the glyph of warding.

Teleportation circle:

As you cast the spell, you draw a 10-foot-diameter circle on the ground inscribed with sigils

(PHB, p. 246 and 282, emphases mine).

To put the teleportation circle in the spell glyph, you have to cast it, including drawing the circle and sigils. You can't have them drawn when the glyph is triggered.

Related Topic