[RPG] have multiple active instances of resist energy

damage-resistanceimmunitiespathfinder-1espells

Is it possible to have 2 or more castings of Resist Energy (or Protection from Energy or Draconic Reservoir), each covering a different energy type, active concurrently?

The CRB (5th, p209) says (emphasis mine):

Same Effect with Differing Results: The same spell can
sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same
recipient more than once. Usually the last spell in the
series trumps the others. None of the previous spells are
actually removed or dispelled, but their effects become
irrelevant while the final spell in the series lasts.

'Usually' implies cases where they do not trump the others – is there any official statement on when they should/should not?

Best Answer

This GM would say yes to multiple resist energy effects were energy types different

The Pathfinder Core Rulebook isn't allowed by the Open Gaming License to reprint the example from the Player's Handbook for Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 for the section of the rules that the question quotes, and Paizo deigned not to include its own example. This kind of absence leaves Pathfinder players sometimes at a loss as to the scope of the rules as originally presented in that game's antecedent. To fill that gap, presented below, for comparison and critique, is the Player's Handbook Same Effect with Differing Results paragraph:

The same spell can sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same recipient more than once. For example, a series of polymorph spells might turn a creature into a mouse, a lion, and then a snail. In this case, the last spell in the series trumps the others. None of the previous spells are actually removed or dispelled, but their effects become irrelevant while the final spell in the series lasts. (172)

(Emphasis mine; the 3.5e SRD on this topic also omits this example.) I assume, based on this example, that the rule's supposed to quash shenanigans—like the player saying his PC should have the lion's ability to bite, claw, and roar while the PC's in snail form—, rather than to prohibit absolutely a creature from benefiting from a spell cast on it multiple times despite each iteration clearly having a differing effect and each iteration clearly not interfering, overlapping, or supplanting other iterations. Obviously and as always, each GM must determine the extent of this rule's application, but to this GM the spell resist energy seems like a fine candidate for an exception to the Pathfinder-added usually.

Related Topic