[RPG] How does Empowered Evocation work on spells with multiple damage types?

dnd-5emagic

Empowered Evocation (PHB 177) reads:

Beginning at 10th level, you can add your Intelligence modifier to the damage roll of any wizard evocation spell you cast

The spell Ice Storm does 2 different types of damage:

A creature takes 2d8 bludgeoning damage and 4d6 cold damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one

I have an evoker with a 16 intelligence (+3 modifier). I cast Ice Storm as 4th level. Is my int bonus added to:

  1. The total damage: 2d8 + 4d6 + 3
  2. Each damage type: 2d8 + 3 and 4d6 + 3

Best Answer

Number 1 is the correct one. You only get the damage once (And in fact on a spell like, say magic missile, which it's targeting the same creature multiple times, you still only get it once. This is not exactly addressed directly in the rules, though Mike Mearls has tweeted about it several times).

That said, which damage type it falls under is not addressed, and as such I would allow the wizard to pick. If you want to do something consistent, always applying it to the first damage instance would make sense (This seems fall well within the reading of Mearls' response).