[RPG] How does forgoing advantage interact with Elven Accuracy


Can an Elven Samurai still benefit from Elven Accuracy if it uses Rapid Strike?

Elven Accuracy


Whenever you have advantage on an attack roll using Dexterity, Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma, you can reroll one of the dice once.


Rapid Strike

… If you take the attack action on your turn and have advantage on an attack roll against one of the targets, you can forgo the advantage for that roll to make an additional weapon attack against that target

If I forgo advantage, can I still roll the other die from Elven Accuracy? Consider that they both activate from having advantage on the attack.

Best Answer

Reading the rules as written for both, Elven Accuracy does not apply.

Elven Accuracy states "Whenever you have advantage on an attack roll", not "Whenever circumstances would grant you advantage".
If you choose to forgo advantage, you no longer have advantage on the attack roll. So Elven Accuracy does not apply.

Consider this; If I would have advantage on an attack roll because I'm unseen, but I choose to forgo that advantage to move into melee range, I would also not get Elven Accuracy.

I chose to forgo advantage on the attack roll for a different advantage. The same applies for the extra attack from Rapid Strike.