[RPG] How does Malleable Illusion interact with an illusory object made real by Illusory Reality


This is similar to this question, but the other way around.

How does Malleable Illusion interact with an illusory object made real by Illusory Reality?

For example, if I make a silent image of a sword and then make the sword real with Illusory Reality, what happens when I try to use Malleable Illusion during the minute of reality, perhaps to change the sword into a lump of coal?

Best Answer

The sword becomes a lump of coal

This is the fun part of being a high level illusionist: you're essentially a reality warper. There is no contradiction between Malleable Illusions and Illusory Reality. The first one allows you to change the nature of the illusion (as long as it fits within the normal parameters of the spell), while the second one allows you to make one inanimate object in that illusion real.

A real illusion?

The crux of this is you must consider the sword made real by Illusory Reality as still part of the illusion, so that it can be morphed by Malleable Illusion. In other words, the real sword must also be illusory.

And yes, real things can be illusory in D&D. Consider the creation spell. It is from the Illusion school, and is able to create anything from vegetable matter to mithral. It is composed of the same stuff as the illusions in Illusory Reality:


You pull wisps of shadow material from the Shadowfell to create a nonliving object of vegetable matter [...]

Illusory Reality

By 14th level, you have learned the secret of weaving shadow magic into your illusions to give them a semi-reality.

Note that anything you create with creation can actually be morphed by Malleable Illusion, because creation fits the requirements of Malleable Illusion.

It stands to reason things made real by Illusory Reality can be altered by Malleable Illusions as well.

Rule of Cool

Both class features, MI and IR, are part of the same Wizard school. They should be complimentary and not exclusive. That is, what point would there be in a Wizard losing access to one ability (MI) by applying another (IR)?

The heart of the illusion school is tricking other people. Imagine how fun/cool it would be to hand someone a sword and, 6 seconds in to the battle, watch as that sword becomes a lump of coal? As a player who plays an illusionist, stuff like that is incredibly satisfying because it gets to the core of what that school represents.


The two class features do not contradict each other. An illusion spell which creates real objects is subject to MI in the same way purely sensory illusions are. It is cooler to allow it than to restrict it.

So, yes, MI can interact with an object made real by IR.