[RPG] How does the 5th edition handle enhanced magic focuses


I am currently using a Wizard and I just got my hands on a +4 dagger. More specifically the Rabbit Slayer from Dragonlance (ed.: a 2e item).

Question 1: According to official rules can it be used as a spellcasting focus

Question 2: If so how do I go about casting with a +4 focus in terms of modifiers

Best Answer

No magic items above +3 exist in 5th edition

By design magic weapons and items can only add up to +3 at maximum within the system's bounded accuracy. I've searched through the whole of the DMG treasure section and even legendary weapons only have a +3.

Wizards can use Arcane Focus items as an Arcane Focus

They are defined as:

Arcane Focus. An arcane focus is a special item— an orb, a crystal, a rod, a specially constructed staff, a wand-like length of wood, or some similar item— designed to channel the power of arcane spells. A sorcerer, warlock, or wizard can use such an item as a spellcasting focus, as described in chapter 10.

As such I would not deem daggers in general, nor weapon enchanted daggers as Arcane Foci.