Which mechanic of wall of force gives cover to creatures on either side of the wall?
It grants a attributes similar to cover. It specifically states cover-like effects against physical and astral projections, but does not explicitly grant cover in its description. This leads me to believe it does not grant cover or a cover-like status in all situations.
This is not a duplicate question as other wall of force questions assume that the wall grants cover as their answer, but I don't feel they properly explain how that conclusion is reached.
This question is not how does wall of force prevent gaze attacks or magic attacks. It is targeted at the popular assumption that wall of force grants cover. I do not understand it, so I need help with this clarification.
- "Spells only do what they say they can do."
- In the spell description, it does not grant the "cover" attribute to creatures on either side of the wall. Cover is not mentioned anywhere in the spell description.
- "[The wall] is immune to all damage and can’t be dispelled by dispel magic. A disintegrate spell destroys the wall instantly, however."
- As per 3, the wall is not immune to magic, nor does it say it has anti-magic properties similar to the antimagic field spell.
- "Nothing can physically pass through the wall." Grants an effect similar to cover, but does not apply the cover attribute.
- The spell explicitly states that physical and astral projections cannot pass through the wall. By exclusion, anything else can.
- It does not block line of sight. The wall is invisible.
- Does not state the wall is tangible.
- Does state the wall is made of force
- "Force" is a damage type. Damage types are attributes, not substances. Cold, Fire, ice, Necrotic etc. as a damage type – in and of themselves are not physical or tangible forces.
- There are no examples of a damage type granting cover.
- Magic is not a physical effect and is not subject to the "Nothing can physically pass through the wall." descriptor.
I have tried to ask isolating questions to try and narrow down a few of the issues I have with the popular ruling:
- The Invisible Barrier granting cover paradox. (On hold)
- Damage Types Granting Cover
- Is Magic Physical, Astral, or Other?
So my question stands: How does wall of force grant cover to characters on either side of the wall?
It grants attributes similar to cover. It specifically states cover like effects against physical and astral projections, but does not explicitly grant cover in its description. This could lead one to believe it does not grant cover in all situations.