[RPG] How would a house-rule allowing the Wild Magic Surge sorcerer feature to work with cantrips as well affect its power level


I’m preparing to run a 5e campaign, and want to make a change to the Wild Magic sorcerer's Wild Magic Surge feature (PHB, p. 103). Instead of the description saying:

Immediately after you cast a sorcerer spell of 1st level or higher…

I would like it to also work with cantrips, reading:

Immediately after you cast a sorcerer spell…

How would this affect balance?

Bonus: I’m running the Lost Mine of Phandelver Starter Set adventure, so any extra information relevant to that adventure (and the question) will be appreciated.

Best Answer

It wouldn't

Honestly, in my table experience with Wild Magic Sorcerers, the surges are so few and far between that it's a bit frustrating and sad.

It's the surge that's fun (and that resets some of the abilities) and from what I've experienced, anything that produces more surges makes it more interesting.

By increasing the volume of Wild Magic rolls, you are inherently increasing the odds that you'll get one. While the DM can always ask for one under their own circumstances, providing a set mechanic I think makes the class more fun and playable.

Until they set off a fireball centered on themselves.