[RPG] If a spell is cast enough times, does it become a cantrip


I was wondering if a spell can become a cantrip if a wizard casts it say 40 times, since the D&D 5e rulebook says cantrips are spells that have been fixed in the caster's mind by frequent use, infusing the caster with the magic needed to produce the spell over and over.

Best Answer

No, not according to the Rules as Written.

As noted in the Player's Basic Rules:

Cantrips—simple but powerful spells that characters can cast almost by rote—are level 0.

The idea behind a cantrip is that it is so simple that you can cast it essentially without thinking about it. In this sense, casting a cantrip is like walking: you don't really think about it, you just do it.

Non-cantrip spells, by comparison, require that you focus more of your attention on casting the spell. This would be more draining to the caster and more comparable to, say, hiking in difficult terrain. You need to pay more attention to what you're doing, and at some point, both your attention and your body become fatigued and you need to rest before continuing.

You could get a lot of practice hiking, but it would never negate the concentration and stamina you need to do it over long periods of time. Likewise, you could get a lot of practice casting more complicated spells, but at a certain point, you're not going to be able to focus on the act without resting.

In this respect, it helps to think of your spell slots as "concentration points". Once you're out of spell slots, you are too mentally fatigued to concentrate enough to cast spells requiring focus. It would also ruin game balance by giving characters way more power than they'll go up against in an encounter balanced for their character level.