[RPG] If I cast Gust of Wind and then move, what happens to the line of wind

dnd-5emovementspells

Recently I cast Gust of Wind to push back a group of chitine that suddenly jumped the party. It worked surprisingly well but just to be safe, I wanted to place my wizard behind a statue to stay out of their reach in any case, while the wind supported my allies.

The DM asked me how the position of the line works when I move away from the original casting position. I don't know, I said, so I quickly looked it up but it didn't get more clear. He ruled that the blast of wind continued blowing from where I originally cast it, regardless of my wizard's new position (which is how I intended it).

Now after the session, reading the spell description still doesn't clarify it to me. Is there something I'm missing here?

A strong wind 60 feet long and 10 feet wide blasts from you in a direction you choose. Each creature that starts its turn in the line must pass a strength save or be pushed 15 feet away in the line's direction. […]

As a bonus action, you can change the line's direction.

What is supposed to happen to the position of the line when the caster moves while the spell is still active?

Best Answer

The gust moves with the caster

First, the spell does not target a point in space, it has a range of Self.

Second:

A strong wind 60 feet long and 10 feet wide blasts from you in a direction you choose.

Even if you move, it will keep doing that: blasting from you.

Related Topic