[RPG] If I multiclass into Paladin, can I use up any class’s spell slots for Divine Smite


Divine Smite: Starting at 2nd level, when you hit a creature with a melee weapon
attack, you can expend one paladin spell slot to deal radiant damage
to the target, in addition to the weapon's damage.

I'm multiclassing into Paladin/Warlock/Sorc, and I'm wondering: can Divine Smite only be used in spell slots gained specifically by taking a level in Paladin, or can all available spell slots be used?

Best Answer

The errata to the Player's Handbook cleared this up:

Divine Smite (p. 85). You can expend any spell slot, not just a paladin spell slot.

You can use any spell slot to Divine Smite, regardless of where it comes from.