[RPG] If I’m blinded, can I cast a spell that doesn’t require that the target be “a creature you can see”


I'm playing a Wild Magic Sorcerer who obtained a Wand of Wonders — randomness ftw! Anyway, I accidentally blinded myself by using the wand.

On my next turn, still being blind, I want to cast Acid Splash on a target — can I do this?

I attacked the target before, and they haven't moved, I chose Acid Splash because the spell doesn't need "a target you can see" (unlike Hold Person, for instance). I did have line of effect, not line of sight, but I don't think I need it for this spell.

The DM wouldn't let me cast it unless I rolled to see if I targeted the enemy or an ally standing next to it.

We couldn't really find an answer to this, so I switched to Ray of Frost and rolled with disadvantage, as that is all Blindness does to your attacks.

Can someone point me to the right page in the PHB, or just tell me who is right? (I know the DM can always make his own rulings.)

Best Answer

There's nothing in the PHB that says you can't.

The Blinded condition (PHB p. 290) says:

  • A blinded creature can’t see and automatically fails any ability check that requires sight.
  • Attack rolls against the creature have advantage, and the creature’s attack rolls have disadvantage.

The blinded condition doesn't prevent you from casting any spell per se.

As you pointed out certain spell like Hold Person explicitly state "a target that you can see" therefore any factor that prevents you from seeing the target makes the spell unusable.

As you also pointed out, Acid Splash doesn't have such a requirement. The spell description states that you hurl a ball of acid but doesn't require any attack roll, so you are also safe from the second effect of the blinded condition.

Note that the line of sight rules still apply; see the "Targets" section on PHB p. 201.
Despite the name, line of sight is about walls and other objects that impair vision, not the state of your eyes.