[RPG] If two Moonbeam spells are placed on a Large creature, does it take damage from both beams on its turn


If two moonbeam spells are placed on different parts of a size Large (or larger creature), does it take damage from both beams on its turn?

Or is this subject to the rule on combining magical effects that "the effects of two of the same spell do not combine, the most potent effect applies while their durations overlap"?

For reference the text says:

A silvery beam of pale light shines down in a 5-foot-radius,
40-foot-high cylinder centered on a point within range. Until the
spell ends, dim light fills the cylinder.

When a creature enters the spell’s area for the first time on a turn
or starts its turn there, it is engulfed in ghostly flames that cause
searing pain, and it must make a Constitution saving throw. It takes
2d10 radiant damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a
successful one.

Best Answer

The creature takes damage from both spells.

Moonbeam is cast on an area, not a creature. It then causes damage to creatures within that area. The effect of said damage is instantaneous, and so the rules for overlapping spells doesn't apply.