[RPG] If you transmute Ennervation to another element, do you still benefit from the healing


If you transmute Ennervation to another element, do you still benefit from the healing? The spell reads as follows:

Whenever the spell deals damage to a target, you regain hit points
equal to half the amount of necrotic damage the target takes.

But considering the healing aspect is a vital part of the spell, and this was introduced before the Transmuted Metamagic was released, I wondered if it would remain so and should remain so.

Best Answer

You Can't Transmute Enervation

The Transmuted Spell metamagic states the following:

When you cast a spell that deals a type of damage from the following list, you can spend 1 sorcery point to change that damage type to one of the other listed types: acid, cold, fire, lightning, poison, thunder.

Because the enervation spell deals necrotic damage, you can't use this metamagic with the spell.

This might lead you to then ask, well what if we houseruled that you could use Transmute Spell with it? In that instance, yes, because you houseruled that you can (or probably should to keep it fun*).

The Transmute Spell metamagic simply changes the damage type, but it wouldn't be unreasonable to extend that change to the healing text. The thematic reason for why this alternative damage type heals you is up to you as the player to decide if your table elects to allow this house rule.

If you elect to not houserule in that way, you wouldn't be able to receive any healing on the initial casting. Subsequent reapplications of the damage would be necrotic because Transmuted Spell only changes the damage type when you cast the spell.

*I make this statement because enervation isn't the only spell which would have this problem if you didn't. It would also effect vampiric touch and life transference.