[RPG] Interaction of Invoke Duplicity and Misty Step


Can you teleport farther away with misty step if you have a double from Invoke Duplicity? The Channel Divinity feature says:

you can cast spells as though you were in the illusion's space, but
you must use your own senses. (PHB 63)

If you were where your duplicate is, you could step to a space 30ft from its position. So if it is 60ft from you, you could teleport to a space 90ft from your actual position. But the spell says that:

you teleport up to 30 feet (PHB 260)

This would put a hard limit on the distance you can travel.

Which rule takes precedence here?

Best Answer

While you have spells that say:

Range: self

you teleport up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space that you can see.


Cast as if you were in the illusions space

You then cast the spell(Misty Step) on your self (who from the spell's perspective is in the space of the illusion thanks to Invoke Duplicity). As long as you can see the space that you want to "step" to, and it is within 30 feet of the illusion, that would indeed mean you can "step" there in this manner.