[RPG] Is the extra damage die from Orcish Fury affected by crits


In Xanathar's Guide to Everything, there is a racial feat called [Orcish Fury][1] on page 75 that reads:

When you hit with an attack using a simple or martial weapon, you can roll one of the weapon’s damage dice an additional time and add it as extra damage of the weapon’s damage type.

Is this extra damage die affected by critical hits? Because I can see two interpretations of this feat.

Assuming a Greataxe critical hit:

A.) 1d12[base] + 1d12[crit] + 1d12[Orcish Fury]

B.) 2d12[base + Orcish Fury] + 2d12[crit]

Which of these calculations is correct for the damage on a crit?

Best Answer

You get 2d12 extra damage from the critical hit (option B)

The PHB says:

If the attack involves other damage dice, such as from the rogue’s Sneak Attack feature, you roll those dice twice as well.

Orcish Fury's extra damage is by definition "other damage dice" so it definitely applies.

Further evidence can be seen by comparing the wording to sneak attack.

Sneak attack says:

...you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an attack

Which is almost identical to the wording in Orcish Fury:

add it as extra damage of the weapon’s damage type

So, if sneak attack's extra damage is doubled on a critical hit so should the extra damage from Orcish Fury.

Jeremy Crawford seems to support this ruling as well when he said:

When you score a critical hit, roll all of the attack's damage dice again, no matter the source of the dice.

Jeremy Crawford has also now given a direct ruling for this which agrees with all of the above:

When you score a critical hit, you get to roll the attack's damage dice an additional time. If the attack involves extra dice—from a feature like Orcish Fury or Sneak Attack—you roll those an additional time too.