[RPG] Is there something like a (readied) charge in 5e


We're moving from D&D 3.5e to 5e. In 3.5 games there usually was a lot of charging going on, and DMs would also (as a house rule) allow partial charges as readied actions (nothing more dramatic then readying a charge triggered by a charging opponent!).

In 5e the Charge action seems to be gone entirely (at least, I haven't found it in either the Basic Rules or the PHB). On your own turn I guess that's no problem because you can easily roleplay charge (simply move + attack), and if reasonable the DM could give you Advantage on your attack.

However, with Ready it's a different thing. It almost seems as if I'm asking a 5e-version of this existing 3.5e question, because the rules on Ready say (emphasis mine):

First you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or choose to move up to your speed in response to it.

So I guess you can only either attack or move as a readied action, thus excluding a (partial) charge. This would be a shame, because I'd hate to miss the cool drama that comes with readied charges.

Solution would be simple, but I still have to ask: do we need a house rule for readied charges in 5e too?

Best Answer

Charging in 5e is done through the optional feats.

Via page 165 of the PHB;


When you use your action to Dash, you can use a bonus action to make one melee weapon attack or to shove a creature.
If you move at least 10 feet in a straight line immediately before taking this bonus action, you either gain a +5 bonus to the attackā€™s damage roll (if you chose to make a melee attack and hit) or push the target up to 10 feet away from you (if you chose to shove and you succeed).

I can't find anything in the DMG for an optional charging rule either so, as per the rules, sacrificing your Ability Score Increase for said Feat is the only option you have to gain the ability to charge.

As for readying a charge, as per @Miniman's response to my question, bonus actions can only be used on your turn, which means you can ready a Dash action (which wouldn't be of any help since Dash doesn't provide any movement itself) but would be unable to take the bonus action to make one melee weapon attack or to shove a creature.